Download this episode from the G-Cast site.

THANK YOU

I just wanted to say a big thank you to all who have emailed or contacted me through Ravellry to say “Hi” or let me know that you are patiently waiting until things get better and I can put out another podcast.  I really appreciate your support.

ANNOUCEMENTS

There have been soooo many great new podcasts that have come out in the last few months:

For your listening enjoyment please try:

Knaked Knits

The College Knitter

Dyeing to Knit

Knitmore Girls

Sock Tart

ANNECDOTE – Childhood memories

  • In my primary school days I was most taken with a Bargelllo project in shades of purple; a green macrame owl and acryllic wool God’s eyes.
  • The main annecdote in this episode is written by Jessica from Folk and Fairy.  You can read it and view the beautiful accompanying photograph here.
THRIFY KNITTER AND CRAFTER
  • It was time to buy my Mum a gift again.
  • I bought her some handmade earings made of china from the broken vases that families smashed under the Communist regime in China.
  • In my travels to find Mum a gift I discovered some handmade felt scarves and embelished teatowels.
  • I didn’t have the time to make her a gift, but wish I had. 
  • I wish I had the time to start a new craft, and ever hopeful, I’ve jsut bought a tatting shuttle…does anyone know how to do this?  I’ve seen a video on u-tube.  I’d love something like the wooden shuttle she’s using – I’ve only ever seen a red plastic one here – which is the one I bought.
STARBUCKLES _ THE CAFE` CHRONICLES
  • Wouldn’t you know it!  Just as I started this new section, the Starbucks corporation has decided to pull out stores in Australia and NZ.  Don’t they know I have a podcast here?!
  • So, I’m on  cafe` crawl to find a new stitch spot.
  • Today I explore one destination by the sea, but the search continues.
VISITS TO THE YARN STORE
  • Today we have Melissa’s visit. 
  • She laments the demise of another local yarn store.  But she also delights in the closing down sale.
  • Speaking of LYS’s – I’ve heard on Ravellry that Rubi and Lana’s at Gordon, Sydney, is closing down.  This is one of the most pretty and cosy yarn shops in Sydney. It’s such a shame.
INSPIRATIONS
  • Believe it not,  Ripley, I was inspired by Sport!   Specifically by Sally McLennan’s approach to her “finals”.
MUSIC

